Australian Open Tournament: A Comprehensive Analysis

This is the first of four Grand Slam games each year, which takes place in January. Australian Open Tournament: A Comprehensive Analysis.

Australian Open Tournament: A Comprehensive Analysis
Australian Open Tournament: A Comprehensive Analysis

The Australian Open has been held since 1988 in Melbourne Park, in a sports complex with four covered courts and 22 open-air courts. This is the first of four Grand Slam games each year, which takes place in January. Australian Open Tournament: A Comprehensive Analysis.

The Australian Open has been played at many different venues throughout its history, both in Australia and New Zealand. It takes place on two types of courts: grass and hard courts.

As with all Grand Slam games, the Australian Open has the following game categories:

  • Men's singles
  • Women's singles
  • Men's doubles
  • Women's doubles
  • Mixed game

A new category for wheelchair athletes has emerged in recent years. The two main courts of this tournament have retractable roofs to help avoid any weather problems during matches.

Rod Laver Arena is located in Melbourne Park and is home to the Australian Open. This stadium, built in 1988, seats 15,000 spectators.

Australian Open Tournament: Characteristics

As mentioned before, this tournament was played in several different sports venues. Previously, matches were played on grass courts, and now they have been replaced by hard courts.

In 2008, after almost 20 years, a new court area was installed on the Rebound Ace. The new court surface is made of Plexicushion, which allows the ball to be released as opposed to a concrete court. Thus, it reduces the level of fatigue of athletes.

Hard courts are made of concrete and are considered speed courts compared to grass or clay courts. Thus, they require athletes to put more effort into the game.

The Australian Open is played in January each year, which is the middle of the summer season in the southern hemisphere. A special rule has been established due to the possibility of extremely high temperatures.

In 2015, the rule was to articalpone matches when the temperature was above 35 degrees Celsius. In this case, in order to continue the game, you had to lower the temperature by unfolding the roof.

Must Read: Help! My baby is stealing!

For this reason, the next matches had to wait until the temperature dropped significantly. After 2015, changes were made to this rule and it was decided that matches would stop when the temperature reached 40 degrees Celsius.

The last winners of the tournament

We've compiled a list of Australian Open winners at this age, breaking them down by category and starting with men's singles:

  • Novak Djokovic, who won the Australian Open six times in 2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2016.
  • Roger Federer has also won six times, in 2004, 2006, 2007, 2010, 2017, 2018.

When it comes to women's singles, the biggest winners of this age include:

  • Serena Williams is the biggest overall winner with seven wins in 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2015 and 2017.
  • Angelique Kerber won in 2016.
  • Caroline Wozniacki won in 2018.

In men's doubles, one of the most-winning pairs is:

  • Brothers Bryan, Bob and Mike, who won the tournament six times in 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2013.

In turn, in the women's doubles category, the biggest winners are:

  • The sisters William, Serena and Venus, who won in 2009 and 2010
  • Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci, who won the cup in 2013 and 2014.
  • Bethanie Matteck-Sand and Lucie Safarova, who won in 2015 and 2017.

Of course, you cannot forget about the mixed game, in which Daniel Nestor turned out to be the biggest winner. He won his first Australian Open with Katarina Srebotnik in 2011 and second with Kristina Mladenovic in 2014.